

Newsletter of the
Colorado Motor Vehicle
Dealer Board
and
Auto Industry
Division

Robert C. Sexton Named Dealer Board Executive Secretary And Division Director

Robert Sexton was appointed as the new Auto Industry Division Director and Executive Secretary of the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board on May 1, 2005. Bob replaces Linda Petkash who retired in May 2005. Bob has worked for the state for 22 years. Fourteen of those years were with the Colorado Bureau of Investigations.

Also new to the Division is Cheryl Morrison. Cheryl is our new Compliance Specialist in the Colorado Springs office. Cheryl replaces Kathy Williams who also retired in May 2005.

Cheryl was born in Chicago Heights, Illinois. She ran away to Las Vegas in May 2004 and married the love of her life, John Morrison. She inherited four stepdaughters, Rachel 16, Sarah 18, Jessica 21, and

Jennifer 23. She worked with the Colorado Lottery for 14 years; 2 years as a temporary employee; 7 years as a permanent state employee running the mailroom as an Administrative Assistant III. Cheryl transferred to the Investigations Depart-

ROUTING BOX
Owner
Finance Manager
General Manager
Sales Manager

ment of Lottery for the duration of 5 years where she was upgraded to a Program Assistant I. She enjoys billiards, music, movies, cross-stitch, camping, and fishing. She is outgoing, fun loving, and outspoken. In Cheryl's words, "if you want to know my opinion, just ask me."

DEALER BOARD MEMBER ELECTIONS

Elections were held July 14, 2005 for the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 2005-2006 officers. **Gretchen Olson**, a public member of the Board, was re-elected President of the Board. Also re-elected were **Jeff Carlson** of Glenwood Springs Ford, Inc., First Vice-President, and **Jon Kroneberger** of Big Jon's Auto Sales, Second Vice-President.

Lisa J. Schomp of the Ralph Schomp dealerships was appointed by the Governor to serve as a new motor vehicle dealer representative. Jeff Carlson, Lisa Schomp and Dale Spradley of Dale Spradley Motors, Inc. are the new motor vehicle dealer representatives. Kroneberger, Steve Perkins of Centennial Leasing and Sales, and Mark Striegnitz of Mark's Auto Sales, Inc. are the used motor vehicle dealer representatives. Public members are Gretchen Olson, Bob Feder, and

Jim Varner. Governor Owens reappointed Bob Feder and Steve Perkins to another three-year term ending June 30, 2008.

Board members are appointed by the Governor for staggered three-year terms. The Board has the statutory authority to grant, deny, suspend, revoke and fine dealer and salesperson licenses. The Board is also empowered to adopt regulations that have the force of law as well as conduct hearings and monthly meetings. The license fees are also set by the Board each year.

The Dealer Board currently meets the second Thursday of each month for a business meeting and the fourth Thursday of each month for hearings, if needed. The meetings are open to people in the industry as well as the general public. Page 2 July 2005/Wheels

STATE OF COLORADO LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE Effective July 1, 2005-June 30, 2006

License Type	Fee
Original Dealer, Wholesaler, Buyer Agent, Wholesale Auctions	\$325
Renewal Dealer, Wholesaler, Buyer Agent, Wholesale Auctions	
Temporary Out-of-State Dealer	
Original Salesperson	75
Renewal Salesperson	
Additional/Multiples	
Original Manufacturer/Distributor	325
Renewal Manufacturer/Distributor	
Original Manufacturer Representatives	75
Renewal Manufacturer Representatives	
Late Fee - All License Types	25
Dealers:	
Off-Premise Permits	55
Additional Location	135
Address Change	75
Class Change	75
Name Change	75

NOTE: FEES ARE THE SAME AS LAST YEAR EXCEPT FOR THE LATE FEE CHARGE

RENEWAL APPLICATIONS-LATE FEE

Prior to the expiration of a license a renewal notice is mailed to the licensee's business address of record stating when such license is due to expire and the fee necessary to renew the license. Any renewal application submitted after the expiration date of the license will be assessed a late fee. There will be a 30-day grace period following the expiration date of the license to renew. Any licensee submitting a renewal during the 30-day grace period shall pay an additional \$25.00 late fee. If the renewal application is submitted after the 30-day grace period the application will be refused and the applicant must apply as an Original License Applicant and include the bond and fee with the application.

NEW PROCEDURE FOR ORIGINAL SALES APPLICATIONS

In the past a salesperson applying for an Original Salesperson License has been authorized to begin working at a dealership as soon as a completed application, bond and fee were submitted/mailed to the Auto Industry Division. As of July 1, 2005 a salesperson is prohibited from engaging in any form of offering vehicles for saleuntil, a Temporary Salesperson license has been issued by the Auto Industry Division. This will not apply to Renewal Licenses.

July 2005/Wheels Page 3

Reminder for Staggered Motor Vehicle Dealer Licenses

As you know, last year, the Division implemented a plan that staggered approximately 1200 motor vehicle dealer licenses that expire on June 30, 2004. These dealer licenses were renewed for an extended period of 13, 14, or 15 months. This longer renewal period was a one-time adjustment to move the expiration date of the license from June 2004 to July, August, or September 2005. Therefore, this is just a reminder, that the time period on the staggered dealer's license that was issued June 2004, does not effect the issuance or time period for these staggered dealer's dealer plates. The staggered dealers will still continue to renew their plates every June for a 12-month period as always. This will continue to be possible because the dealers license will be active and in force.

For example, ZZZ Motors dealer's license was renewed in June 2004 and was issued a license for a time period of 14-months (July 1, 2004 through August 31,

FUTURE "WHEELS" MAILING

Beginning with the next edition of Wheels, the Division will no longer be mailing the newsletter to the dealers. The Wheels, past and present, are available on our webpage www.revenue.state.co.us/dlr/home.asp. If you would like a copy mailed to you please contact Kaye Kopecky, Public Information Officer, at 303-205-5784 or send an email to dealers@spike.dor.state.co.us.

2005). When ZZZ Motors renews their license this year in 2005, their license period will now be September 1, 2005 through August 31, 2006. However, this coming June when the dealers plates expire, the dealer's license will not be expired. Since the staggered dealers license status continues to be active, the dealer will present that license to the County Clerk for renewal of his/her dealer plates. The County will continue to issue the dealers plates for a 12-month period. The time period on the staggered dealer's plates will no longer follow the time period of the dealers' license. In summary, for the staggered dealers only, as long as the dealer's license is valid when presented to the County in June, plate's can be issued for a 12-month period.

Thank you for your continued help in finishing this project. If you have any questions, please contact Sherry Colborg at (303) 205-5698,

MASTERY EXAMINATION

As stated in the March 2005 Wheels, the Auto Industry Division was in the process of revising the Mastery Examination and Answer Key and would be effective July 1,2005. The revised exam and answer key has been put on hold. We will keep the industry updated on when it will be available for distribution.

DEALER BOARD ACTIONS

Steven T. Stroud, dba Broadway Auto Sales-Denver - #36343 – defrauding any buyer/seller (6 counts); fraudulent transaction; nondelivery of title (6 counts). \$180,000, FULL RESTITUTION, LICENSE REVOKED.

Thomas E. Fink, dba auto Finance Center LLC-Greeley - #4443 – defrauding any buyer/seller (9 counts); failure to honor check/draft to a dealer/wholesaler (2 counts); fraudulent transaction (9 counts). \$105,000 FINE, 30 DAY SUSPENSION, FULL RESTITUTION (\$100,800, 11 DAYS SUSPENSION HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR 12 MONTHS PROBATION)

Francisco Angel-Zaragoza, dba Pacho's Auto Sales & Body Work – Henderson - #36308 – willfully violating any state or federal law respecting commerce or motor vehicles – To Wit: use of building/land in violation of zoning Regulation M; material misstatement in an application of license. \$10,000 FINE, LICENSE REVOKED (\$9,000 FINE AND REVOCATION OF LICENSE HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR CHANGE OF CLASS OF LICENSE FROM USED TO WHOLESALER, ATTEND LICENSING SEMINAR AND 1 YEAR PROBATION).

Marie D. DeHerrera, dba Amigo's Autos – Longmont - #37114 – failure to honor check/draft to a dealer or wholesaler (3 counts); fraudulent sale (3 counts); failure to perform written agreement (3 counts); failure to deliver title within 30 days. \$100,000 FINE, FULL RESTITUTION, LICENSE REVOKED.

John Moxon, dba C.A.R.S. – Greenwood Village - #36578 – defrauding any buyer/seller (3 counts); failure to honor written agreement; fraudulent sale (3 counts); failure to deliver title (2 counts). **\$90,000 FINE, FULL RESTITUTION, LICENSE REVOKED.**

Sammy Yu – Salesperson - #31900 – fraudulent business practice (4 counts), unfitness; unlicensed dealer - \$6,000 FINE (\$5,400 HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR 2 YEARS PROBATION)

Page 4 July 2005 /Wheels

Reminder to Dealers

All AID forms are available on our website and can be downloaded; however, when submitting these forms make sure that you fill them out thoroughly and accurately and provide the **correct number of copies.**

Besides obtaining all AID forms, our website contains other written material regarding the Auto Industry Division. Please check out our Internet home page website at www.revenue.state.co.us/dlr/home.asp. You may also email our Public Information Officer at dealers@spike.dor.state.co.us with any questions or concerns.

DEALER BOARD MEMBERS

President, Gretchen Olson First Vice President, Jeff Carlson Second Vice President, Jon Kroneberger Bob Feder, Steve Perkins, Lisa Schomp, Dale Spradley, Mark Striegnitz, Jim Varner Executive Secretary, Robert C. Sexton

AUTO INDUSTRY DIVISION

Division Director, Robert C. Sexton Licensing Manager, Debby Shriver Acting Investigator Supervisor, C Halberstadt Public Information Officer, Kaye Kopecky

Correspondence is welcome. Address to:
Auto Industry Division
1881 Pierce Street, Lakewood, CO 80214
Phone: (303) 205-5604 FAX: (303) 205-5977
E-mail: dealers@spike.dor.state.co.us
Internet: www.revenue.state.co.us/dlr/home.asp

C A L E N D A R

Dealer Board Business Meeting: Second Thursday of each month at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St, Lakewood.

Dealer Board Hearings: Fourth Thursday of each month, if necessary, at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St, Lakewood.

License Law Seminar - Colorado Springs: First Tuesday of each month at 10:00 am, 4420 Austin Bluffs Pkwy, Colorado Springs.

License Law Seminar - Ft Collins: BY APPOINTMENT ONLY, Second Wednesday of each month at 10:00 am, 1121 W Prospect Road, Ft. Collins

License Law Seminar - Lakewood: Third Tuesday of each month at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St, in the Department of Revenue Building, Conf. Rm. C, Lakewood.

Note: Times and locations are subject to change. Call the Auto Industry Division at (303) 205-5784.

Please note: While every effort is made to make the information in *Wheels* as accurate and helpful as possible, it is not offered as a substitute for legal advice.