Proposal to LAG Licensing Subgroup

Create a New Retailer License Type - Catering License

After hearing the licensing group's feedback on the special event license proposals, we have revised the proposal below here to clarify and simplify the ask for a catering liquor license.

The State of Colorado is a major player in the hospitality and events industries in the United States and competes nationally with much larger states for that business. Per the Colorado Event Alliance's research, there are 40 out of 50 states in the U.S. that have some type of catering or special event liquor license - many have existed for decades. Per the Liquor Advisory Group's mission of modernizing liquor laws and public safety initiatives, we believe the creation of a catering liquor license to be one of the largest opportunities for Colorado's liquor law framework.

The catering license outlined below is very similar to California's long existing catering liquor license. This license type would enable catering and concessions style companies in Colorado to have a viable business model to service private and public events that does not currently exist. We would encourage the Licensing subgroup to consider this proposal for escalation to the main group to discuss further.

PROPOSAL - Create a new Retailer License - Catering License

- Would create a new retail tier license that would allow a catering company to pull temporary permits to sell and serve alcohol in unlicensed locations.
- The Catering license would apply to the caterer's main warehouse or banquet hall location. All alcohol would be stored at this warehouse location and could be taken to and from events that the caterer pulls temporary permits at.
- The Caterer's warehouse could host events that it caters or conduct private tastings for its clientele for charge or no charge.
- For each permit the licensee would send in an online form to State and Local Licensing Authorities with basic event information such as guest count, date, time, types of alcohol being served, event address etc. Information would also include a permission letter from the venue allowing access and regulatory control to Liquor Enforcement.
- Requires state approved safe-service certifications for all servers of alcohol.
- The main catering license would be \$2,500 yearly. Each additional temporary event permit would have a processing fee of \$50.00.
- Funds collected from the catering license and temporary permits would go to state and local enforcement agencies as appropriate.

- The holder of a caterer liquor license, can obtain a permit, on forms prescribed by the State Licensing Authority or electronically that notifies the department of the date, location, hours of operation at least 30 days in advance of such event. Due to exigent circumstances the state and local licensing authorities could in writing remove this thirty day notice as necessary.
- Sandwiches and/or light snacks are required at a minimum at each temporary event.
- Temporary Event Permits are limited to a single day for each permit, 12 hour period maximum.
- Permit liquor signage must be posted within visibility of the main service area(s) of an event
- The state licensing authority may adopt rules and forms necessary for the implementation of catering license and attached permits.