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EXPLANATION OF THE HEARING RIGHTS AND 
THE HEARINGS PROCESS FOR AN APPEAL 

Specific to a Denial of a Salesperson’s License Application 

INTRODUCTION 

This information is provided as a courtesy. It is not intended to be legal advice. If you choose 
to represent yourself, you are presumed to have knowledge of the applicable statutes and 
rules and must be prepared to accept the consequences of any mistaken understandings, 
even if the case is not litigated. Also, you will be bound by the same rules of procedure and 
evidence as attorneys who are licensed to practice law. 

The staff of the Auto Industry Division (hereafter “AID”) is prohibited by law from giving 
legal advice. Staff members may provide information about a procedure, but they are not 
permitted to advise you as to how to proceed. 

Additionally, members of the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board are appointed by the Governor, 
and make decisions collectively at public Board meetings. Regarding your case, they are not 
permitted to confer with you individually or with any other person acting on your behalf. 

If you would like to consult with an attorney, you may contact any attorney of your 
choosing. 
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I. WHAT THE DENIAL OF THE APPLICATION MEANS TO YOU

A. The Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (hereafter, the “Board”) did not issue a
permanent license to you.

B. Any “Temporary License” previously issued to you has been terminated. It is now
null and void and no longer permits you to exercise the rights and privileges as a
salesperson.

II. YOUR OPTIONS FOLLOWING THE BOARD’S DENIAL OF YOUR
APPLICATION

A. TAKE NO ACTION. If you choose to take no action on the Board’s denial of your
license application, the Board’s denial will be final 60 days after the date on the certificate
of service on the Notice of Denial. After that time, you will no longer be permitted to
appeal the Board’s denial.

B. APPEAL THE DENIAL. You may choose to appeal the Board’s denial of your license
application by requesting a hearing. You may request a hearing by completing and
submitting the “Request for Hearing to Appeal Denial of a Salesperson Application” form
(hereafter, the “Hearing Request Form”) attached to this document or by a letter containing
the information set forth in the form.

Your written request for a hearing must be received within 60 days after the date on the 
“Certificate of Service” found at the end of the Board’s Notice of Denial of your license 
application. 

Your request for a hearing must be received by the AID no later than the close of business 
(5:00 PM, Mountain Time) on the 60th day. If the 60th day falls on a weekend or on a 
Colorado State holiday, you will have until the next business day to submit your hearing 
request. If your request is “late,” your request for a hearing will be denied as a matter of 
law. 

C. ASSISTANCE IN CHOOSING HOW TO RESPOND TO THE BOARD’S DENIAL. AID staff
and Board members are prohibited by law from giving you legal advice.

If you need assistance beyond the explanations provided in this document to make an 
informed decision on how to respond to the Board’s denial of your license application, you 
may consult, relatives, friends, co-workers, bosses, professionals in other capacities, or 
persons employed by one of the Associations that serve the Motor Vehicle and Power-
Sports Dealers communities in Colorado or an attorney. 

D. REPRESENTATION BY A COLORADO-LICENSED ATTORNEY. If you decide to hire an
attorney to represent you in the hearing on the denial of your license application, he or she
must file an Entry of Appearance, either simultaneously with filing a Hearing Request or
shortly thereafter.
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III. HOW TO REQUEST A HEARING ON THE DENIAL OF YOUR 
LICENSE APPLICATION 

A. THE HEARING REQUEST FORM. You may use a copy of the Hearing Request Form 
attached to this document to request a hearing. If you use that Form, you must fill it out 
entirely. The AID must receive the form within the allowed time period. 

 
B. A LETTER REQUESTING A HEARING. You may use a personal letter to request a 
hearing. In that letter you need to provide all of the information requested on the Hearing 
Request Form. You must specifically state that you request a hearing on the denial of 
your application. Your letter must also a) have a date, b) set out your full, legal name, typed 
or printed, and, c) be signed by you. The AID must receive the letter within the allowed 
time period. 

 
C. TIME PERIOD FOR FILING A HEARING REQUEST. At the end of the Notice of Denial 
of your License Application is a “Certificate of Service.” You have sixty (60) calendar 
days from the date on the certificate of service to submit your request for a hearing. Your 
request for a hearing must arrive and be recorded at the AID office no later than the close of 
business (5:00 PM, Mountain Time) on the 60th day or it will be counted as “late.” If the 
60th day falls on a weekend or on a Colorado State holiday, you will have until the next 
business day. If your request is “late,” your request for a hearing will be denied as a matter 
of law. 

 
D. HOW TO FILE A HEARING REQUEST. You may use any of the methods below to 
submit your written request for a hearing. 

 
• By US Mail to the following address: 

 
Attn: Licensing Appeals 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
Offices of the Auto Industry Division 
P.O. Box 17087 
Denver, CO 80217-0087 

 
• By Email to the following Email address: 

 
dor_mvdb@state.co.us 

 
 

IV. THE HEARING PROCESS 

A. WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU APPEAL YOUR APPLICATION DENIAL. After you file a 
written request for a hearing to contest the denial of your application, your case will be 
heard by a Hearing Officer in the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Hearings Division 
(hereafter, the “Hearings Division”). After the hearing, the Hearings Division sends the 
case back to the Board in the form of a ruling entitled “Initial Decision for the Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board” (hereafter the “Initial Decision”). 

 

mailto:dor_mvdb@state.co.us
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B. THE HEARING PROCESS. The Hearings Division employs a number Hearing Officers to 
handle the full range of the Department of Revenue’s cases from a variety of divisions and 
programs within the Department of Revenue. Hearing Officers act as judges in the cases 
assigned to them, performing their duties as set out in applicable law and regulation. 

 
C. TIMING OF THE HEARING. After you request a hearing, the Hearings Division must fit 
your case into its existing docket. The Hearings Division’s docket fills with appeal cases on 
a first-come, first-served basis. You will receive a Notice of Hearing setting a specific 
hearing date at least 30 days prior to the date of your hearing. 

 
D. THE NATURE AND COURSE OF THE HEARING BEFORE A HEARING OFFICER. A 
hearing before a Hearing Officer is an electronically-recorded evidentiary hearing taking 
place in a conference room. It is fact-finding in nature. You and a representative for the 
Board are the opposing parties. Hearing Officers, like all judges, monitor and protect the 
rights of the parties before them. 

 
Hearing Officers are independent fact-finders. They follow the law, regulations, and 
judicial ethics. The Hearing Officer maintains an orderly process without prejudice or 
favoritism toward any party, and applies the law appropriately and fairly, reaching a 
reasoned decision. 

 
You may present your own evidence and make your own arguments or you may hire an 
attorney to represent you. The Board employs an attorney from the Colorado Attorney 
General’s Office to represent it (hereafter, the “AG”). The hearing has definable stages and 
features, as follows: 

 
1. Opening Statements. After everyone in attendance has identified themselves 
for the record, the Hearing Officer will give both you and the AG the opportunity to 
make Opening Statements. A party’s Opening Statement is usually a summary of 
the case that party intends to present through evidence and argument during the 
hearing. It is your choice whether to make an Opening Statement. 

 
2. Presentation of Evidence. Each side is given the opportunity to introduce 
evidence and argument in the hearing. Usually the Hearing Officer asks the Board 
to proceed first so that the reasons for the denial of your application frame the 
issues for the hearing. The parties introduce evidence into the hearing by means of 
witnesses and exhibits. You may be a witness for yourself and you may also be 
called as a witness by the Board. Both you and the AG can bring other witnesses 
to present evidence and introduce exhibits. 

 
The Hearing Officer will administer an oath to all witnesses before they can testify. 
You and the AG are responsible to organize your own presentations and to call 
witnesses and introduce exhibits in the order you desire. You and the AG can object 
to the introduction of exhibits or certain testimony and the Hearing Officer will rule 
on any objection. You and the AG can cross-examine each other’s witnesses. The 
Hearing Officer will occasionally ask questions of witnesses if the Hearing Officer 
needs further clarification or explanation in order to understand the facts and 
properly rule in the case. 
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3. Burden of Proof / Preponderance of the Evidence. By law, because you are 
applying for a license, you have the burden of proof to establish that the Board 
should issue you a license. You must prove that you are entitled to a license by a 
preponderance of the evidence. The Hearing Officer will determine whether you 
have met your burden and issue a written ruling several weeks after the hearing. 

 
4. Closing Arguments. After both you and the AG have introduced all of the 
evidence in your case, the Hearing Officer will give each of you the opportunity to 
make a Closing Argument. A Closing Argument provides an opportunity to argue 
facts and law to the Hearing Officer. It is your choice whether to make a Closing 
Argument. 

 
5. The Conclusion of the Hearing. The Hearing Officer officially notes the end 
of the hearing on the record. The Hearing Officer does not rule on the case on the 
day of hearing, and will not give the parties any “preview” of his or her thoughts. 
The Hearing Officer must carefully sort through the testimony and exhibits to 
ascertain all of the relevant facts, make determinations of the credibility of 
witnesses, apply the relevant facts to the correct laws and regulations, and reach the 
appropriate, conclusions. 

 
E. SPECIAL CONSIDERATIONS. 

 
1. Mandatory Disqualifiers. The Board is required by law to deny an application 
for licensure for any person who has been convicted of certain felonies. If the 
reasons stated in the Board’s Notice of Denial of your application include 
§44-20-118(a)(I) or (II), C.R.S., or §44-20-420(8)(a)(I) or (II), C.R.S., for a felony 
conviction within the ten (10) years prior to the date of your application, that means 
the Board has alleged that you have a conviction for which the Board is required by 
law to deny licensure (“Mandatory Disqualifier”). 

 
If it is established that you have been convicted of a Mandatory Disqualifier, 
neither the Board nor a Hearing Officer has any choice but to deny or to uphold the 
denial of a license application. 
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2. Deferred Sentences. If you received a deferred sentence in a criminal case, 
this sentence will be treated in the same manner as a conviction, until you have 
successfully completed all of the terms of the sentence and have had the case 
dismissed by court order. 

 
3. Identity Issues. If the Board denied your license application based upon a 
criminal record that pertains wholly or partially to someone other than you, or upon 
an apparent discrepancy or multiplicity of Social Security numbers, you have an 
“identity issue.” 

 
The responsibility to resolve any identity issue is yours, alone. You may need to 
contact the relevant court(s), law enforcement and/or governmental agency(ies), 
(i.e. the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Colorado Bureau of Investigation 
(CBI), the Social Security Administration (SSA), or the Immigration and 
Naturalization Service (INS)) to clear your record. Whenever identity issues exist, 
you must produce sufficient evidence in writing to establish your identity. 

 
You may find the following websites helpful:  
 

http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks  
 
https://cbi.colorado.gov/sections/biometric-identification-

and-records-unit/identity-theft-and-mis-identification 
 

4. Interpreters for Hearings. You have the right to bring a foreign-language 
interpreter with you to the hearing, but you are responsible to hire a certified 
interpreter solely at your expense. An interpreter must be able to interpret whatever 
any person expresses in that hearing, completely and accurately, in both your 
preferred language and in English. An interpreter cannot guess at the meaning of 
words and phrases, cannot “fill in the blanks” for you, and cannot extend the 
meaning of your expressions or make inferences from what you have said in order 
to respond to questions that you may not have understood. For these reasons, the 
Colorado Courts have developed a certification program for interpreters who will 
appear in Court or other legal proceedings. 

 
You will need to acquire and pay a Language Interpreter certified in your preferred 
language through the Colorado State Interpreter Program of the Office of the State 
Court Administrator. 

 
5. Accommodations for Disabilities. If you require special access to the building 
and/or to the hearing room or require some other form of accommodation for an 
existing disability, please enclose a separate letter with your Hearing Request 
Form, indicating what accommodations are needed. Be sure to include a valid 
contact phone number. The Hearings Office staff will communicate with you 
regarding reasonable accommodations. 

http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks
https://cbi.colorado.gov/sections/biometric-identification-and-records-unit/identity-theft-and-mis-identification
https://cbi.colorado.gov/sections/biometric-identification-and-records-unit/identity-theft-and-mis-identification
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F. THE RESULT OF THE HEARING / THE HEARING OFFICER’S INITIAL DECISION. 
Following the hearing, the Hearing Officer will issue an Initial Decision. There is no 
specific deadline within which the Hearing Officer must release the Initial Decision to the 
Board. The Initial Decision will contain the following: 

 
The “Findings of Fact.” The Hearing Officer recites the relevant facts that he or 
she has determined were brought out in the hearing. 

 
The “Conclusions of Law.” The Hearing Officer recites the relevant provisions 
of the law and regulations and, applying the relevant facts under the burden of 
proof, decides the merits of the case. The Hearing Officer weighs the evidence with 
the “preponderance of the evidence” standard in mind, placing the burden on the 
appropriate party. 

 
The “Recommended Ruling of the Hearing Officer.” This section reflects the 
Hearing Officer’s reasoned opinion on the appropriate result of the appeal. The 
Hearing Officer lacks the authority to speak for the Board. The Hearing Officer 
only has the authority to recommend to the Board what action the Board should 
take, based upon the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. Typically, a 
Hearing Officer will recommend either that a License be: 1) Granted, 2) Granted 
subject to specific conditions, or 3) Denied. 

 
G. AFTER THE HEARING OFFICER ISSUES THE INITIAL DECISION. The Hearing Officer 
provides the Initial Decision to the Board. The Board then sends the Initial Decision to you 
and to the AG, together with a detailed explanation the next stage of review of the case, a 
stage called the “Exceptions Process.” 

 
The “Exceptions Process” provides the parties the opportunity to request that the Board 
modify the Hearing Officer’s Initial Decision. Even if the parties do not file Exceptions, 
the Board may review the Initial Decision on its own motion. 

 
After deliberation on the facts and the law, the Board will issue a Final Order, which may 
adopt, modify or reverse the Initial Decision. The Board’s Final Order in your case may be 
either more or less favorable than the Initial Decision. 

 
 

V. YOUR HEARING PROCESS RIGHTS 
 

You have the following rights with respect to the Hearing process: 
 

A. BE PRESENT. You have the right to be present at the Hearing and to testify under oath 
in your own behalf. 

 
B. HAVE REPRESENTATION. You have the right to be represented by legal counsel of 
your choosing. 
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C. SEE AND HEAR EVIDENCE. You have the right to see and hear the Board’s evidence 
and arguments. 

 
D. ENGAGE IN CROSS-EXAMINATION. You have the right to cross-examine all of the 
Board’s witnesses. 

 
E. PRESENT EVIDENCE. You have the right to present relevant and admissible evidence, 
including the introduction of exhibits, to examine your own witnesses, and to make 
arguments on your behalf. (Note: If you plan to introduce written exhibits on your behalf, 
you are responsible in advance to label each exhibit with a letter, in series (i.e., “Exhibit 
A,” “Exhibit B,” “Exhibit C,” etc.). You must have at least four (4) photocopies of each 
labeled exhibit to pass out to the Hearing Officer and to others present.) 

 
F. ISSUE SUBPOENAS. You have the right to have subpoenas issued on your behalf by the 
assigned Hearing Officer to appear at the Hearing and produce evidence. (Note: You are 
responsible to serve the subpoenas on your witnesses, and you are responsible to pay both 
the costs to serve those subpoenas and any expenses required for any witness.) 
 
 

VI. FAILURE TO APPEAR AT THE HEARING 
 

If you request a Hearing and then you fail to appear at the scheduled Hearing without 
having obtained a continuance from the Hearing Officer, the Hearing Officer may proceed 
with the hearing in your absence, and may issue an Initial Decision to the Board without 
input from you. The Board in turn may reach a Final Decision regarding your license 
without further notice. 
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REQUEST FOR HEARING TO APPEAL 
DENIAL OF A SALESPERSON’S APPLICATION 

 

[Please print all entries] 
 

CASE #:    
 

SALESPERSON 
LICENSE #:    

 

DATE:    
 

FROM:    
Applicant’s Full Legal Name 

MAILING 
ADDRESS:    

Applicant’s Complete Current Personal (not Dealership) Mailing Address 
 
 
 

TELEPHONE:    
Applicant’s Complete Current Personal (not Dealership)Telephone Number 

 

EMAIL ADDRESS:    
Applicant’s Complete Current Personal (not Dealership) Email Address 

 

TO THE MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD: 
 

I WOULD LIKE TO APPEAL THE DENIAL OF MY SALESPERSON’S LICENSE 
APPLICATION. PLEASE REQUEST THE HEARINGS DIVISION TO SCHEDULE A 
HEARING ON THIS MATTER. 

 
 

Applicant’s Signature 
 

ADDITIONAL REQUIRED INFORMATION 
 

1. Is the address above a change from the address on your application? YES NO 

2. Do you intend to have an attorney represent you and appear for the hearing? YES NO 
 

Attorney’s Name (if known):    
 

Attorney’s Address (if known):    
 
 
 

3. At the time you received your Notice of Denial, were you still employed 
by the Dealership on your application? YES NO 
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