DR 2267 (08/30/24)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Auto Industry Division
P.O. BOX 17087

DENVER CO 80217-0087
(303) 205-5604
dor_dealers@state.co.us
SBG.Colorado.gov/AID

Complaint Process For Consumers & Dealers

Before Filing a Complaint

Contact the dealership and provide the information concerning the problem. If the general manager or owner does not satisfactorily resolve the problem, a complaint may be filed with the Auto Industry Division (AID).

Examples of a Complaint

An inquiry into a complaint is limited to alleged violations of the motor vehicle law.

Examples of law violations could be:

- Failing to deliver title within 30 days of the sale.
- Failing to meet all terms and conditions contained in the written contract.
- Tampering with an odometer or giving a false odometer statement.
- Willfully misrepresenting or failing to disclose any information required by law.
- Intentionally publishing or circulating any advertising that is misleading or inaccurate.
- Selling vehicles that do not meet the safety and emission equipment requirements.
- Failing to give notice of approval or rejection on a finance deal to the customer within a reasonable time.
- Selling a salvage vehicle without proper disclosure.
- Selling a vehicle that is known to be stolen.
- Not maintaining a place of business and minimum operating hours.
- Selling a vehicle to a resident of the AIR Program area without an emissions certificate/voucher.

Other Types of Complaints

There are certain circumstances that are not violations of the motor vehicle dealer law.

The consumer does not have 72 hours to change his or her mind on a car deal. When the contract is signed, the vehicle is bought and sold as of the contract date.

The dealer does not have to repair the vehicle after the sale when the vehicle is sold without a warranty unless it is a safety item.

The Auto Industry Division cannot require a dealer to honor a verbal agreement. The consumer is provided a "State Disclosure Form" indicating that any verbal agreements are not enforceable.

The Auto Industry Division cannot dictate good business practices or ethical behavior. Complaints concerning these issues cannot be investigated.

Motor Vehicle Warranties

If any repair work was not part of a vehicle sales contract, it is outside the jurisdiction of the AID. The local District Attorney does have jurisdiction over illegal actions by an automotive repair facility. A complaint concerning repair work may be filed with the District Attorney's office.

Lemon Law

The Lemon Law applies only to new vehicles in the first 24,000 miles or within the first two years of purchase whichever comes first. It does not apply to used vehicles purchased by consumers who encounter repair problems. The procedures for filing a complaint under the Lemon Law are found in the vehicle owner's manual. The Colorado Attorney General's Office has additional information on their website at www.stopfraudcolorado.gov.

How to File a Complaint

The Auto Industry Division requires a formal written complaint. A verbal complaint presented over the telephone or in person cannot be accepted.

The consumer complaint forms DR 2121 and DR 2122 should be completed explaining the specific circumstances of the situation including dates, times, and persons involved. A copy of all paperwork related to the complaint must be attached. Also include a home address and daytime telephone number. For convenience, a handwritten or typed complaint may be filed instead of using forms DR 2121 and DR 2122.

E-mail, mail or deliver in person to the AID office. E-mail to: dor_dealers@state.co.us. The AID mailing address is listed at the top of this form. The physical address can be found on the AID website.

Who Handles the Complaints

The Auto Industry Division has jurisdiction to inquire into complaints in cases where a consumer has purchased a car, truck, trailer, powersports, or motorcycle from a licensed Colorado dealer and a violation of the law has allegedly occurred. Also, the AID will investigate unlicensed sales activity. They do not have jurisdiction to inquire into a complaint between private parties.

Complaint Resolution

When a complaint is received, it is assigned to an Investigator. During the course of the investigation, the AID will contact the complainant to discuss the issues raised and may also encourage the dealer to contact the complainant directly to resolve the complaint.

After receiving information from both parties and conducting a complete and thorough investigation, the AID determines if the facts support a violation of the law.

Complaint Findings

Regardless of the outcome the complainant and dealer will be notified of the findings.

Depending on the complaint, the AID may suggest civil litigation or recommend another agency. Neither the AID nor the Board can order or direct a dealer to give a refund to the complainant. The dealer may make such an offer in an effort to resolve the complaint. The complainant may have to pursue a civil suit or claim against the dealer's bond to obtain a monetary resolution. Claims against a dealer's bond must be supported by a finding of fraud by the Dealer Board or by a court judgment.

Further Information:

If you have general questions for the Auto Industry Division you can call us at (303) 205-5604. If you have questions specific to the complaint process or a complaint you have filed, please call (303) 866-2532.

The Auto Industry Division may also be contacted by fax at (303) 866-2597. The AID Internet home page is located at *SBG.Colorado.gov/AID* and has information available for consumers and dealers.

Walk-in assistance is provided at the Department of Revenue. The AID mailing address is listed at the top of this form. The physical address can be found on the AID website.

DR 2267 (08/30/24) Page 2 of 2