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Linda Petkash was appointed as the new Auto
Industry Division  Director and  Executive  Secretary of  the
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board on September 1, 2002.  Linda
has  worked for  the state  for  over  26 years. The last nine
years were with the Division of Gaming, also within  the
Department of  Revenue.  She  is  excited  by her  move to
the Auto Industry Division.   Linda  stated, “I am looking
forward to the future with the Auto Industry Division.  I
have  an   open  communication  and  management style, and
believe  in developing  good working  relationships  with  all
stakeholders to the industry.”

Working  for  the Auto Industry Division must be in
her genes…literally.  Her  great-grandfather had the first
car dealership in  Bristow, Oklahoma , where he  started
out  selling  Model T Fords.  Family lore  has  it  that  he and
her  grandfather drove the first Model T from Kansas City
to  Bristow…well almost… they only made it two-thirds of

the  way.   Back then, there
weren’t any  highways. While
they were driving   through  a
large  pothole, he  broke the
front  axle on a  log that wasn’t
visible. He found a way to get it
to the  railroad  where  it “rode” the  rest of  the  way.  He
was in business for 20 years.

Linda and her husband, Dale, have been married for
over 15 years.  Dale became an instant parent when they
married as Linda already  had two daughters, Michele now
30 and Meighen, 25.  They also have two sons, Ian, 14 and
Evan, 12, who  keep  them  busy   with their  sports  schedules.
Linda  and  her  family  enjoy  camping,  fishing,  and
spending time at their  cabin  each  year in  Homer,
Alaska.

Compliance Corner by Supervisor Mary Marvin

Off-Premise Permits
 A request for an off-premise permit shall  be made in

writing  and  shall  list the  location  and  the date(s) of  the
sale.  Contact  the Licensing Section for the form or
download  the form  from  our  web site at
www.mv.state.co.us/dlr/dealer.html.  The form  must  be
submitted prior  to the  sale.  The permit shall  be available
for inspection at the  sale.  The fee  for  an off-premise permit
is  $60.00.

Ambiguous Contracts – AID has  learned that
several dealers are completing both a cash contract and a
finance contract  with  their customers at the time of  the
initial  contract.  If the contract for  the sale  of  a motor
vehicle requires a  single lump sum payment of  the purchase
price, it is construed as a cash contract with buyer’s order

and Required Disclosure completed as such.  If the contact
is contingent upon approval of credit financing for the purchaser
by the dealer it is construed as a dealer arranged finance
transaction with buyer’s order and Required Disclosure
completed as such.  Both contracts cannot be completed at
the same time, at time of purchase.  It must be made clear to
the customer  whether  the contract is  for cash or  dealer
arranged  financing.  If  the  customer  cannot fulfill a cash
contract and the dealer opts to arrange financing for the
customer, a new contract  may  be
completed  at that time with  a
disclosure “this  contact supersedes
any and all others”  - to  prevent
confusion.



Previous Dealer Board Actions
Our  apologies  to  Emmett Formby, dba Formby Interstate Ford – Dacono #508, for  the incomplete  Board
Action as disclosed  in  the August 2002 Wheels.  The stipulation entered  into  by  the Board  and Formby
Ford  was: $20,000 fine of  which $19,500 was held  in abeyance, 3 day  suspension  to be held  in abeyance,
and  3  months probation.
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Licensing Leads by Debby  Shriver,  Licensing Manager

In  early  September,  all  county  motor   vehicle  offices
were  given  access  to  information  relating to dealer
licensing  records.  County  Offices  now  have instant  and
current  information  relating  to  a  licensed dealer’s  record.

The   County   Offices  will   be  able  to  see  information
such as a  dealer’s  number, whether  or  not  the  dealer’s
license  is   active  or   inactive,  bond  information,    ownership
information,    additional    location   information,  dealer
franchise   information  (what a  franchised  dealer  is
authorized  to  sell  new) and  plate authorization.   All  of  this
information  is public  record.

The  access  will   eliminate  the
need  for  County  Offices  to  call  the  Auto  Industry Division
for  this  information   and   also  eliminates  the   need  for
printing   and   distributing   reports   to  County  Offices  twice
a  year.  As   for   the   dealer   industry  we  feel  this  may
even  improve  the  processing  of   the  dealer’s   titling    paper
work  that occurs  in   the  County   Offices.

The Auto  Industry  Division  is  researching  the
possibility    of    allowing    further    access    ( maybe   auctions)
to  the   dealer  information   and  even  expanding   and  adding
licensing  records  for  salespeople.

Moving Ahead – County Access to Dealer Licensing Records

Investigations has notified the Dealer Board that a
significant number  of “forgery of convenience” by
dealerships has  been occurring.  Many dealerships believe
it is okay  to sign a customer’s name  to a  title  document
so as not to inconvenience the customer or because the
customer  cannot  be  located , believing  no harm  no foul.
The  dealership  is  in  violation  of  state  statute.  Any person
who makes any application for a certificate of title or
transfer  thereof  and  who upon  such  application  or
transfer  swears  or  affirms  willfully and  falsely  in  a matter

material  to any  issue or point, is guilty of perjury in the
second degree.  Also, the dealership is guilty of  Offering A
False Instrument for Recording which is a class 1
misdemeanor.  The  Board  has determined   that   the   first
such violation   will warrant   a  formal  warning  letter which
will become a permanent part of the dealer’s record.
Subsequent  violations  will  be  referred  directly to the Board
for a  hearing  where a fine will  be assessed; the fine may
be up to $10,000  per  violation   per  the  Board  discretion.

Board Addresses Convenience Forgeries
by Mary Marvin, Supervisor Investigator

    Most  commercial  insurance carriers offer coverage
called  “False Pretense” coverage or also known  as
extended  theft coverage.  This coverage is added to the auto
physical damage  coverage or Dealers Open Lot Coverage.
Its  purpose is  to  extend  coverage  for  you  voluntarily
parting with an auto resulting from a trick, scheme, or
criminal device.  Since  each  scheme is  unique  each situation
is different.  The coverage  was originally  developed  to
cover “theft  by conversion”.  When  you  give  permission
to  a customer to operate a vehicle and the auto is not
returned, this  is theft  by conversion  not a  stolen car.  Most
dealer physical damage coverage excludes theft by
conversion.  False  pretense  extends coverage to this
exposure.  Over the years the form has been extended to
cover other types of losses resulting from counterfeit
instruments, checks written on a closed account, false or

False Pretense Coverage, by Jim R Taylor, Insur Group

forged  identities, social  security numbers, or signatures.
Further, coverage  is extended  to a vehicle purchased

by  you  with  a  forged, stolen,  or   invalid duplicate title.
Each policy form of false pretense coverage has

limitations and exclusions.  You should read the policy
coverage  form  prior to  purchasing  the coverage to make
an informed decision.  In most instances the cost of the
coverage is small.

We have seen an increase in this type of claim, which
is probably a function of our current economic conditions.
All dealers should be aware of the potential problems  and
avoid  situations  that  may  create losses.  This  is  easier  said
than done.  Today’s  accomplished  thief is very  good at
deception.  Wherever  possible, know your  customer  and
verify  information  given  prior to  delivery of  an auto.
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DEALER BOARD ACTIONS
Gregory A Maceau, dba Downtown Motor Cars, LLC-Colorado Springs #4228 – illegal transaction; financial

record; failure to deliver title; defrauding any buyer/seller; failure to perform written agreement. $10,000 FINE, 30 DAY
SUSPENSION ($8,000 AND 30 DAY SUSPENSION HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR 18 MONTHS PROBATION
IF FULL RESTITUTION IS MADE.

Ray D Marks, dba Rocky Mountain Motor Company – Aurora #4531 – failure to deliver title (2 counts);
defrauding any buyer/seller (2 counts); failure to honor written agreement (2 counts). $6,000 FINE, 1YEAR SUSPENSION
($5,000 AND 1 YEAR SUSPENSION HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR 2 YEARS PROBATION IF FULL
RESTITUTION IS MADE.

Jennie L and Richard F Wanecek, dba Metro Auto Sales – Lakewood #7150 – failure to honor written
agreement (6 counts); defrauding any buyer/seller (11 counts); illegal sale (11 counts); failure to honor check/draft (3 counts);
failure to deliver title (2 counts). $165,000 FINE ($148,500 HELD IN ABEYANCE IF FULL RESTITUTION IS
MADE) LICENSE REVOKED.

Jeffrey Felker, dba Colorado Motor Company – Denver #8060 –nondelivery  of  title (2 counts); defrauding any
buyer, seller  or financial  institution (12) counts; illegal  sale/transaction (8 counts); false oath (7 counts); defrauding  a secured
creditor (12 counts); perjury in  the 2nd degree (7 counts); false instrument for record (7 counts); license character record
(55 counts). $110,000 FINE, ($99,000 HELD IN ABEYANCE IF FULL RESTITUTION IS MADE) LICENSE
REVOKED.

Robert Bailey, dba Choice 1 Auto Sales – Colo Springs #4811 –failure to perform  written  agreement (19 counts);
defrauding any buyer/seller (19 counts); failure to honor check/draft (15 counts);  $265,000 FINE,( $238,500 HELD IN
ABEYANCE IF FULL RESTITUTION IS MADE), LICENSE REVOKED..

Thomas Peterson, Allen Anderson & Richard Peterson, dba Trademark Motors – Loveland #4728 – failure
to honor written agreement (5 counts); illegal sale (5 counts). $30,000 FINE, 3 DAYS SUSPENSION, ($29,000 AND
3 DAYS SUSPENSION HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR 6 MONTHS PROBATION) DEALER HAS MADE
RESTITUTION.

Phil  Long Ford of Denver, LLC, dba Phil Long of Denver LLC – Denver #8988 – advertising  (2 counts).
$4,000 FINE, 1 DAY SUSPENSION, ($3,000 AND 1 DAY SUSPENSION HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR 6
MONTHS PROBATION).

Phil Long Ford LLC, dba Phil Long Ford LLC – Colo Spgs #8991 – advertising (11 counts). $22,000 FINE,
1 DAY SUSPENSION, ($16,500 AND 1 DAY SUSPENSION HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR 6 MONTHS
PROBATION).

Academy LLC, dba Phil  Long Ford  of Chapel Hills – Colo Springs #8992 – advertising (2 counts). $4,000 FINE
AND 1 DAY SUSPENSION,( $3,000 AND 1 DAY SUSPENSION HELD IN ABEYANCE FOR 6 MONTHS
PROBATION).

Valucar LLC, dba Valu Suzuki – Colo Springs #4200 – advertising (1 count). $2,000 FINE, ($1,500 HELD IN
ABEYANCE FOR 6 MONTHS PROBATION).

Investigation Insight by Supervisor Investigator Mary Marvin

New Investigator Hired
The  Investigation  Section  hired Robert  Seaman, the

new  Investigator  for  Northern Colorado , based  in  the Fort
Collins office.  Bob is a seasoned investigator, formerly
employed  with the Larimer County   Sheriff’s Office, with
a degree in Criminal Justice. Bob has lived in the Larimer
County area for about forty years; is married and has two

grown children.   Special thanks to Investigator Richard
Predovich   for  accepting  the temporary  duty  in Northern
Colorado  along with  his permanent
Denver assignments.

Vincent L Siravo, Salesperson – fraudulent business practices (9 counts); misappropriating funds (9 counts);
unlicensed dealer. $20,000 FINE, 30 DAY SUSPENSION ($18,000 AND 30 DAY SUSPENSION HELD IN
ABEYANCE FOR 2 YEARS PROBATION AND FULL RESTITUTION) ATTEND LICENSE SEMINAR.

Jami Still, Salesperson – fraudulent business practices (42 counts); defrauding any retail buyer (42 counts);
misappropriating funds (42 counts); unfitness (84 counts); unlicensed dealer. $1,008,000 FINE ($982,800 HELD IN
ABEYANCE IF RESTITUTION IS PAID WITHIN 90 DAYS) LICENSE REVOKED.
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The Wheels They Are A Changing
Beginning  with  the  December  2002   issue  Wheels will  be  published  on  a  quarterly  basis.

Our  next  issue  of   Wheels  will  be published  March  2003.   You  can  always  view  past  and  present
Wheels,  access  forms  or  other  written  material  regarding  the  Auto Industry  Division  by  visiting
our  Internet  home  page  website  at www.mv.state.co.us/dealer.html.  You  may  also  email our
Public  Information  Officer  at dealers@spike.dor.state.co.us with  any  questions  or concerns.

DEALER BOARD MEMBERS
President, Steve Perkins

First Vice President, Fred Emich
Second Vice President, Leo J. Payne
Gretchen Olson, Jeff Carlson,Bob Feder,

Mark Striegnitz, Jim Varner, Jon Kroneberger

Executive Secretary, Linda Petkash

AUTO INDUSTRY DIVISION
Division Director, Linda Petkash

 Licensing Manager, Debby Shriver
Investigator Supervisor, Mary Marvin

Public Information Officer , Kaye Kopecky
Correspondence is welcome.  Address to:

Auto Industry Division
1881 Pierce Street, Lakewood, CO  80214

Phone: (303) 205-5604      FAX: (303) 205-5977
E-mail: dealers@spike.dor.state.co.us

Internet:  www.mv.state.co.us/dealer.html

C A L E N D A R

Dealer Board Hearings: Fourth Tuesday of each month,
if necessary, at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St,  Lakewood.

License Law Seminar - Colorado Springs: First
Tuesday of each month at 10:00 am, 4420 Austin Bluffs
Pkwy, Colorado Springs.

License Law Seminar - Lakewood: Third Tuesday of
each month at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St,  in  the
Department of Revenue Building, Conf. Rm. C,
Lakewood.

Note: Times and locations are subject  to change.
Call  the Auto Industry Division at (303) 205-5784.

Please note: While every effort is made to make the
information in Wheels as accurate and helpful as possible,

it is not offered as a substitute for legal advice.

Dealer Board Business Meeting: Second Tuesday of
each month at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St,  Lakewood.


