NLLEA (National Liquor Law Enforcement Association) Survey

4/9/2014
State Sanctions for Sale to Minor - 1** Offense 2" Offense Does the State Agency allow the Minor to Lie about Their Age
Alabama $750 fine $1000 fine
Alaska Up to 45 day suspension Up to 90 day suspension and fine up to $50,000 Minors may lie about their age, if pressed for Id, they will present their real ID.
Arizona $1000 - $2000 fine and up to 30 day suspension $2000 - $3000 fine and up to 30 day suspension Minors are not allowed to lie about their age.
Arkansas $500 - $1000 fine $1000 - $2000 fine
California Fine or suspension Fine or suspension
. Over 18 — 5 day suspension and $1000 fine; 16-18 — 9 day Over 18 — 10 day suspension and $2000 fine; 16-18 — 15 day
Connecticut . . . )
suspension and $1250 fine suspension and $2500 fine
Delaware First offense $500 fine and/or suspension $2500 fine

District of Columbia

Fine, suspension or revocation

Fine, suspension or revocation

Minors are not allowed to lie about their age, no deception what so ever.

Florida $1000 fine and 7 day suspension $3000 fine and 30 day suspension

Georgia Fine and probation Larger fine and suspension

Hawaii $2000 fine or 7 day suspension 7 day suspension Minors are not allowed to lie and must present their ID if requested.

Idaho 10 days suspension and/or fine 30 days suspension and/or fine

Illinois $500 fine and/or suspension up to 30 days

Indiana No Information Minors are not allowed to lie about their age and must present ID if asked.




State Sanctions for Sale to Minor - 1% Offense 2" Offense Does the State Agency allow the Minor to Lie about Their Age
lowa Summons to seller, $1500 if owner sells, $500 if employee sells 2" violation w/l two years — 30 day suspension and $1500 fine [Minors are not allowed to lie about their age.
Kansas $500 fine or diversion for 1* offense $750 fine and one weekend day suspension
Kentucky 20 day suspension or $1000 fine 20 day suspension, $1000 fine and Tips training mandatory
Louisiana $1200 fine plus 3-10 days suspension
Maine $50 - $1500 fine
Maryland $1000 fine $2000-$3000 fine
Massachusetts Suspension, revocation or modification of license Minor may not lie about their age, per department guidelines.
Michigan Max $1000 fine, suspension or revocation
Minnesota $100 - $2000 fine and possible criminal charges Same, except penalties will be more severe
Mississippi 2 week suspension, one week being served and other in abeyance  |Revocation of license if 2™ violation w/l one year
Missouri Admin penalties range from suspension to revocation of license.
Montana $250 fine $1000 fine
Nebraska Penaltigs set l?y Commission, range from suspension, canceflation or Minor may lie about their age or give a false date of birth.
revocation of license
Nevada Local law enforcement agencies set penaties

New Hampshire

Minimum $500 fine and 3 day suspension. Must appear if front of
Commission

New Jersey

If over 18 yoa, 15 day suspension. If under 18 yoa, 30 day
suspension

Suspension time doubles for 2" violation




State Sanctions for Sale to Minor - 1% Offense 2" Offense Does the State Agency allow the Minor to Lie about Their Age
New Mexico 1 day suspension plus $1000 - $2000 fine. 7 day suspension plus $2000 - $3000 fine
New York All penalties decided by Authority Board

North Carolina

12 day suspension or $1200 fine

24 day suspension or $2400 fine

North Dakota

5 day suspension, with 1-3 must be served.

10 day suspension plus remaining abeyance days

Ohio Penalty set by Commission

Oklahoma $400 fine $1000 fine

Oregon 10 day suspension or $1650 fine 30 day suspension or $4950 fine

Pennsylvania z:nop?g;ei?oo fine and/or suspension. Mandatory training of Same as 1° offense.

Rhode Island $350 - $1000 fine plus criminal charges for seller $750 - $1000 fine, plus criminal charges for seller.

South Carolina

$400 - $500 fine plus criminal charges for seller

$500 - $1000 fine plus criminal charges for seller

South Dakota

$500 - $1000 fine

$1000 - $2000 fine

Tennessee $1500 fine $1500 fine plus suspension

Texas 8 — 12 days fine @$300 a day in lieu of suspension 16 - 24 days fine @ $300 a day in lieu of suspension Minors may not lie and must provide ID if requested.
Utah $500 - $3000 fine and 5-30 days suspension $1000 - $9000 fine and 10 — 90 days suspension

Vermont Criminal Violation, suspension or revocation of license determined by Mandatory Court appearance

Liquor Board

Virginia

25 days suspension or $2000 fine

Mandatory 25 days suspension

Minors may not lie or provide false information in any manner.
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Washington 5 days suspension or $500 fine 7 day suspension if occurs w/l 2 years Minor's may lie about their age, but if asked for ID must present their real ID.
West Virginia $1000 fine, suspension or revocation set by Commission
Wisconsin $500 fine if no violation within 30 months prior $500 fine, plus criminal charges for seller.

Wyoming Criminal violation, $750 fine or 6 months imprisonment or both Same as 1% offense and possible loss of liquor license Minors are not allowed to lie about their age, prohibited by statute.




