DRAFT

HB21-1317 Educational Resource

INTRODUCTION

HB21-1317 requires the State Licensing Authority to create a tangible educational resource regarding the use of regulated marijuana concentrate. The educational resource must be completed by January 1, 2022. Medical and Retail Marijuana Stores are required to provide the tangible educational resource with each sale of regulated marijuana concentrate beginning January 1, 2022.

SECTION 1: Examples of visual representation of a serving size recommended for each type of concentrate

- Visual comparisons of 1 gram of marijuana flower to concentrate and 10 mg of edible to a concentrate. (Seeking photographs from stakeholders that can be used in the tangible educational resource)
- Propose using "10X or 100X as many servings" as the visual representation of marijuana flower and marijuana product.
- Vaporizer use serving size representation: X inhalations lasting X seconds

SECTION 2: Risks and precautions

- "Start Low. Go Slow."
- There is no peer-reviewed scientific evidence that medical or retail marijuana is effective in treating any physical or mental condition.
- Medical and retail marijuana, unlike pharmaceuticals and alcohol, are not regulated by the Federal government.
- Medical and retail marijuana may cause:
 - 1. Psychosis even on the first use and without any prior history of psychosis;
 - 2. Suicidal idealations including suicide;
 - 3. Addiction.
- Marijuana Concentrates ARE NOT recommended for inexperienced marijuana users.
- Medical and retail marijuana stores are not medical providers and cannot provide medical advice. Any questions related to the health or safety of medical or retail marijuana should be discussed with a patient's recommending physician, or an adult consumer's primary care physician.

SECTION 3: Other statutory and regulatory labeling requirements mandated on marijuana products:

- "Keep away from Children."
- "This product was produced without regulatory oversight for health, safety, or efficacy."
- "There may be long term physical or mental health risks from use of marijuana including additional risks for women who are or may become pregnant or are breastfeeding. Use of marijuana may impair your ability to drive a car or operate machinery."
- "WARNING: Using marijuana, in any form, while you are pregnant or breastfeeding passes THC to your baby and may be harmful to your baby. There is no known safe amount of marijuana use during pregnancy or breastfeeding."

SECTION 4: A notice describing the penalties associated with diversion

- It is a felony offense to dispense, sell, or distribute marijuana or marijuana concentrate both in Colorado and out-of-state, and selling marijuana concentrate to a minor comes with a higher penalty.
- The sale, transfer, or dispensing of cannabis is a felony punishable by a prison sentence up to 32 years and/or fines up to \$1,000,000.00.
- A felony conviction can have serious consequences including the inability to vote while incarcerated, prohibition on obtaining a passport which is required to travel internationally, disqualification for employment, the inability to obtain housing and other serious consequences.

SECTION 5: Other Resources

- Colorado Poison Center helpline: 1-800-222-1222
- Colorado Department of Public Health resources:
 - Responsibility Grows Here, https://responsibilitygrowshere.com/
 - Youth and Marijuana, <u>https://responsibilitygrowshere.com/youth-and-marijuana/</u>
 - Monitoring Health Concerns Related to Marijuana in Colorado: 2020 https://johnnysambassadors.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Monitoring-Health-Concerns-Related-to-Marijuana-in-Colorado_FINAL_1.22.2021.pdf