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 Denver, CO 80217-3350 
 

DR 4041B (06/11/14)

June 1, 2017 
 
 
Dear Liquor Industry Members, Local Clerks and Stakeholders: 
 
The 2017 Legislative Session was active with liquor industry bills, some of which will 
require rule changes.  The following laws were passed by the Colorado Legislature and 
most of them have been, or are expected to be, signed by Governor John Hickenlooper.  
The Colorado Liquor Enforcement Division (Division) is providing summary information 
from each bill and how it affects the industry.  In order to assist the industry in 
understanding the bills, the Division will have meetings on Thursday, June 8, 2017 at 1 
p.m. and Thursday, June 15, 2017 at 1 p.m. to provide more details and answer 
questions about the new laws. 
 
The meetings will be held at: 
 

Division Office Conference Room – Entrance B 
1881 Pierce Street 
Lakewood, CO  80214 

 
 

SUMMARY 
 
 
HB 17-1120 / CAMPUS LIQUOR COMPLEX 
 
This bill creates a new designation for a Hotel and Restaurant Liquor License called a 
Campus Complex.  This designation is similar to the Resort Complex designation as it 
allows one licensee (H&R) to identify separate related facilities that serve alcohol by 
applying for a related facility permit.   
 
The license and campus liquor complex designation can be either an institution of 
higher education or a person who contracts with the institution to provide food services. 
 
Since it is a single license, alcohol from each related facility can be transferred to other 
related facilities within the same campus liquor complex. 
 
The institution of higher education shall designate a manager for the campus liquor 
complex for each related facility and each facility can have the same or separate trade 
names. 
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The special events code was changed to add the campus liquor complex to the list of 
liquor licenses where a special event permit could be held. 
 
The fees for a related facility permit are the same as a resort complex, $75 – State, $100 
– local. 
 
This bill becomes law effective August 9, 2017. 
 
 
HB117-1137 / VIOLATION REPORTING 
 
This bill eliminates the mandate for local licensing authorities to report all actions 
taken to impose fines, suspensions, and revocations to the state licensing authority that 
is pursuant to section 12-47-601(8), C.R.S. 
 
The Division will continue to publish violations on the Division website. 
 
This bill becomes law effective August 9, 2017 
 
 
HB17-1145 / AMATUER WINE MAKERS 
 
This bill adds homemade vinous liquors to the list of exempted alcohol items found 
under section 12-47-106, C.R.S.  Like malt liquor, vinous liquors will also be allowed to 
be transported to licensed premises to be use in conjunction with organized affairs, 
exhibitions, or competitions.   
 
The vinous liquor must be served in portions not to exceed 6 oz. and must not be sold, 
offered for sale, or made available for consumption by the general public. 
 
This bill becomes law effective August 9, 2017 
 
 
HB17-1365 / EBT ATM TRANSACTIONS IN A LIQUOR-LICENSED DRUGSTORE 
 
This bill exempts a liquor-licensed drugstore from the list of liquor licenses where EBT 
cash withdraws from an ATM are prohibited. 
 
This bill is expected to become law effective August 9, 2017. 
 
 
SB17-058 / EMPLOYEES PURCHASING 
 
This bill clarifies that an employee or an agent of a hotel and restaurant (H&R), tavern 
or lodging and entertainment (L&E) licensee shall purchase alcohol beverages for one 
licensed premises only, and the purchases shall be separate and distinct from purchases 
for any other H&R, tavern or L&E license. 
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The emphasis of this bill was to add “employee or agent” to be included as people 
allowed to purchase alcohol. 
 
This bill becomes law effective August 9, 2017. 
 
 
SB17-077 / SPECIAL EVENT PERMIT ELIGIBILITY 
 
This bill adds the following entities that may obtain a special events permit pursuant to 
section 12-48-101, C.R.S.: 
 

(1) A state agency, or 
(2) The Colorado Wine Industry Development Board created in section 35-29.5-103, 
C.R.S., or 
(3) An instrumentality of a municipality or county, 
 
That promotes (a) alcohol beverages manufactured in Colorado or (b) tourism in an 
area of the state where alcohol beverages are manufactured. 

 
This bill becomes law effective August 9, 2017. 
 
 
SB17-134 / PENALTIES FOR SALES ROOMS, BREWPUBS, VINTNER’S 
RESTAURANTS AND DISTILLERY PUBS 
 
This bill limits both local licensing authorities and the state licensing authority in their 
ability to apply fines or suspensions concerning sales to minors or to visibly intoxicated 
persons.  This bill only pertains to the following license types:  salesrooms within a (1) 
distillery, (2) limited winery, (3) manufacturer winery or (4) beer wholesaler; and 
brewpubs, distillery pub and vintner’s restaurants.   
 
When assessing a fine or suspension for these license types, the fine or suspension can 
only include sales to customers and cannot include wholesaler or manufacturer 
sales/functions. 
 
This bill becomes law effective August 9, 2017. 
 
 
SB17-237 / AGE OF EMPLOYEES FOR TAVERNS AND L&E LICENSES  
 
This bill allows a person between the ages of 18-20 to sell/serve alcohol beverages within 
a tavern or L&E license if the licensee regularly serves meals.   
 
Last year, SB16-197 took this ability away from tavern and L&E licensees.  Senate Bill 
17-237 restores the ability for these license types to employ 18-20 year olds as long as 
the licensee regularly serve meals. 
 
This bill becomes law upon the Governor’s signature. 
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SB17-269 / ITEMS SOLD AT A RETAIL LIQUOR STORE 
 
This bill defines the products and percentages of sales for products a retail liquor store 
can sell.  A retail liquor store can sell any non-alcohol products, but not to exceed 20% of 
the retail liquor store’s total annual gross sales revenues.   
 
The following products are excluding in the 20% calculation: 
 

Lottery products; 
Cigarettes, tobacco products, and nicotine products as defined in section 18-13-
121(5), C.R.S.,  
Ice, soft drinks and mixers; and 
Nonfood items related to the consumption of malt, vinous or spirituous liquors 

 
This bill is expected to become law effective August 9, 2017. 
 
 
If you have any questions about any of the above bills, please contact us at 
dor_led@state.co.us or bring your questions to one of the classes in June. 
 
 
Sincerely, 
 

 
 
Patrick Maroney 
Director 
Colorado Liquor Enforcement Division 

 
 


