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May 28, 2015 
 
 
Dear Liquor Industry Members, Local Clerks and Stakeholders: 
 
The 2015 Legislative session was active with liquor industry bills, some of which will require rule 
changes.  The following laws were passed by the Colorado Legislature and signed by Governor John 
Hickenlooper.  The Colorado Liquor Enforcement Division (Division) is providing summary 
information from each bill and how it affects the industry.  In order to assist the industry in 
understanding the bills, the Division will have meetings in June 2015 to provide more details and 
answer questions that may arise. 
 
SUMMARY: 
 
HB15-1031/Powdered Alcohol 
 
This bill mandates the Colorado Liquor Enforcement Division (Division) to adopt rules establishing a 
mechanism for regulating the manufacture, purchase, sale, possession, and use of powdered alcohol.  
The Division will seek input from all stakeholders involved during the upcoming working groups 
starting in June.   
 
This bill became law on March 20, 2015. 
 
HB15-1192/Entertainment District Expansion 
 
Add the following license types allowed to be an attached license premises to a common consumption 
area within an entertainment district:  beer and wine, manufacturer that operates a sales room 
pursuant to section 12-47-402(2) or (6), C.R.S.  – wineries and limited wineries.   
 
This bill becomes law effective on August 5, 2015. 
 
HB15-1202/Reissued Licenses 
 
This bill creates a reissued license for licensees who fail to renew their liquor license more than 90 
days and less than 180 days past date of expiration.  Applications for a reissued license are either 
accepted or denied by the local licensing authority or state licensing authority for those licenses not 
subject to local licensing authority approval.  If accepted by the licensing authority, the licensee must 
submit: 
 

1. An application for a reissued license 
2. Payment of five-hundred ($500) late fee to the local licensing authority (for retail licenses) 

and the state licensing authority for all license types 
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3. Payment of a fine of twenty-five $25 per day for each day the license has been expired 
beyond ninety days to both the local and state licensing authorities 

 
If the reissued license application is not allowed, the licensee must apply for new license per section 
12-47-311, C.R.S. 
 
This bill becomes law effective August 5, 2015. 
 
HB15-1204/Distillery Pub 
 
This bill creates a new retail license type called a Distillery Pub.  It is fashioned after the Brew Pub 
concept and allows: 
 

1. Sale of alcohol beverages for on-premises consumption 
2. Production of not more than forty-five thousand (45,000) liters of spirituous liquor that is 

fermented and distilled on the licensed premises 
3. Sell its spirituous liquor to independent wholesalers 
4. Sell its spirituous liquor to the public in sealed containers for off-premises consumption 
5. Sell it spirituous liquor at wholesale to licensed retailer in an amount up to two thousand 

seven hundred liters per spirituous liquor product per calendar year. 
6. A Distillery Pub is added to the list of licenses allowed to cork and carry vinous liquor 

according to section 12-47-421, C.R.S. 
 
Since the Distillery Pub is a retail license, it must first be initially submitted to the local licensing 
authority for approval.  An Alternating Proprietors license is not available for the Distillery Pub. 
 
At least 15% of the gross on-premises food and alcohol beverage income of the licensee must be from 
the sale of food.  Food is defined as a quantity of foodstuffs of a nature that is ordinarily consumed by 
an individual at regular intervals for the purpose of sustenance. 
 
This bill became law on April 24, 2015. 
 
HB15-1217/Local Input for Salesrooms 
 
This bill gives local licensing authorities the ability to provide input to the state licensing authority 
concerning wineries, limited wineries, distilleries and malt liquor sales rooms.  The applicant for a 
sales room must forward a copy of the application to the local licensing authority who has forty-five 
(45) days to provide input of whether or not the sales room affects traffic, noise, or other 
neighborhood concerns in a manner that is inconsistent with local regulations or ordinances. 
 
This bill does not mandate the local licensing authorities to conduct a hearing, but is not prohibited 
either.   
 
The state licensing authority will adopt rules concerning the amount of time needed for the local 
licensing authority to submit its determination for sales rooms considered temporary, which is not 
more than three (3) days. 
 
The applicant must affirm to the state licensing authority that the applicant has complied with local 
zoning restrictions for any additional sales room. 
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This bill becomes law effective August 5, 2015. 
 
HB15-1244/Cork and Carry for Club Licenses 
 
This bill added the club license type to the list of licenses that are allowed to cork and carry according 
to section 12-47-421, C.R.S.  It applies to vinous liquors (no more than 750 ml) that have been 
unsealed and partially consumed.  
 
 
HB15-1255/EBT Enforcement 
 
This bill provides additional responsibility to the Division concerning the enforcement of the 
prohibited use of electronic benefits transfer cards at certain liquor licensed establishments. 
 
This bills mandates: 
 
On or before January 1, 2016 and July 1, 2016, the Department of Revenue shall submit reports on 
electronic benefits transfer withdrawals from prohibited liquor establishments according to section 
26-2-104, C.R.S.  This includes liquor licenses defined as retail liquor establishments licensed to sell 
malt, vinous or spirituous liquor pursuant to part 3 of article 47 of title 12, C.R.S. 
 
On or before January 1, 2016, the Department of Revenue shall adopt rules to enforce the prohibition 
of clients accessing benefits at an ATM which is prohibited by law.  Such rules must include: 
 

1. A requirement that the liquor license post a sign on or near the ATM notifying clients that this 
section prohibits the use of electronic benefits service transfer card at the ATM 

2. A requirement that the liquor licensee take measures to prevent a client from using an 
electronic benefits cards to access moneys from the ATM 

3. Methods to enforce this requirement against the liquor licensed establishment including 
increasing penalties for multiple violations. 

4. A provision that a liquor licensee is exempt from the requirements of the adopted rules if the 
licensee provides the Division a statement from the owner of the ATM that the ATM does not 
accept electronic benefits transfer cards.  Except that, if one or more violations occur at the 
liquor licensed establishment, the Division may take measures to prevent future violations 
including increasing penalties for multiple violations not to exceed $100. 

 
This bill became law effective May 1, 2015. 
 
 The specific dates for Division meetings to discuss more details of these bills are posted on our 
website, www.colorado.gov/enforcement/liquor. 
 
Sincerely, 
 

 
 
Patrick Maroney 
Director 
Colorado Liquor Enforcement Division 
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