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DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

Division of Gaming 

RULES OF FANTASY CONTEST OPERATOR LICENSING AND REGISTRATION 

1 CCR 207-3 

_________________________________________________________________________ 

1.1 Authority. 

The licensing and regulation of fantasy contest operators is found in title 44 article 30 part 16 (“Fantasy 
Contests”) of the Colorado Revised Statutes. These Rules are promulgated pursuant to section 44-30-
1604 (1), C.R.S. 

1.2 Scope and Purpose. 

These Rules are promulgated in order to carry out the powers and duties of the Director of the Division of 
Gaming, Department of Revenue (“Director”) pursuant to Article 30 of Title 44, C.R.S., for the purpose of 
licensure or registration of fantasy contest operators. These Rules shall be binding on every person 
authorized to operate as a fantasy contest operator or a small fantasy contest operator in Colorado. All 
persons licensed or registered under Article 30 of Title 44, C.R.S. are charged with having knowledge of 
the existence of these Rules and shall be deemed to be familiar with their provisions and to understand 
the Rules. 

These Rules are severable. If one Rule or portion of a Rule is found to be invalid, all other Rules or 
portions of Rules that can be enforced without the invalid Rules shall be enforced and shall remain valid. 

These Rules are not intended, and shall not be construed, to affect or limit in any way the jurisdiction or 
regulation of any individual or entity by any federal, state, or local government or subdivision thereof, 
including but not limited to the Colorado Department of Revenue and its Divisions. 

1.3 Definitions. 

All terms defined in section 44-30-103, C.R.S. shall have the same meaning in these Rules. In addition, 
as used in Article 30 of Title 44, C.R.S. and these Rules: 

(1) “Applicant” means any individual or entity that applies for an initial license or registration or a 
renewal license or registration to operate in Colorado as a fantasy contest operator or a small 
fantasy contest operator. The Applicant shall be the individual or entity that is responsible for the 
financial and contractual obligations of the fantasy contest operator. 

(2) “Beginner player,” as used in section 44-30-1607(1)(h), C.R.S., means any fantasy contest player 
who has entered fewer than fifty-one contests offered by a single fantasy contest operator and 
who does not meet the definition of highly experienced player by virtue of having won three 
fantasy contest prizes of $1,000 or more. 

(3)  "Director” means the director of the division of gaming or the director’s designee.  

(4) “Division” means the Division of Gaming in the Department of Revenue. 

 



(5) “Highly experienced player,” as used in section 44-30-1607(1)(h), C.R.S., means any fantasy 
contest player who has: (a) entered more than 1,000 contests offered by a single fantasy contest 
operator; or (b) has won more than three fantasy contest prizes valued at $1,000 or more. Once a 
fantasy contest player is classified as highly-experienced player, a player will remain classified as 
such. 

(6) “Prize,” as used in Article 30 of Title 44, C.R.S., means anything of monetary value, including but 
not limited to, money, contest credits, merchandise, or admission to another contest in which a 
prize may be awarded. 

(7) “Script,” as used in section 44-30-107(1)(i), C.R.S., means commands that a fantasy contest-
related computer program can execute that are created by fantasy contest players (or by third 
parties for the use of fantasy contest players) to automate processes in a fantasy contest. 

1.4 Application for Registration. 

(1) Registrant Name 

(a) Registrants shall not operate as a small fantasy contest operator using a name that has 
not been provided to the Director. 

(b) If a registrant operates as a small fantasy contest operator under a trade name, such 
trade name must be filed with the Colorado Secretary of State pursuant to section 7-71-
101, C.R.S. 

(c) All names under which a registrant operates as a small fantasy contest operator 
(including business, assumed, or trade names) shall be provided to the Director. 

(2) A small fantasy contest operator must apply for registration with the Division. An applicant for 
registration must: 

(a) Submit a completed application for registration on a form and in a manner approved by 
the Division. 

(b) Submit with the application all fees established by the Director. 

(c) Submit documentation validating the number of fantasy contest players in Colorado with 
active individual accounts who participate in fantasy contests with an entry fee. The 
number of said players shall not exceed 7,500, pursuant to section 44-30-1603(7), C.R.S. 
The documentation shall comprise customer base data from the ninety days preceding 
the date of application submission. An account shall be considered “active” if (i) the 
player has an email address on file with the small fantasy contest operator and (ii) has 
paid an entry fee for a fantasy contest, agreed to pay an entry fee for a fantasy contest, 
or has made a monetary deposit to a player account. 

(d) Submit additional information as may be requested by the Division to evaluate the 
applicant’s qualification for registration. An application submitted without the required 
fees and documentation will be considered incomplete. 

(3) If a registered small fantasy contest operator at any time exceeds the count of 7,500 fantasy 
contest players, the fantasy contest operator must apply for licensure. The applicant must notify 
the Division within twenty days of exceeding the count of 7,500 contest players, and shall have 
forty five days from notifying the Division to submit an application for licensure. If, after licensure, 
the fantasy contest operator drops below the number of 7,500 fantasy contest players, the 
applicant may submit an application for registration instead of renewing licensure. 



1.5 Application for Licensure. 

(1) Licensee Name 

(a) Licensees shall not operate as a fantasy contest operator using a name that has not 
been provided to the Director. 

(b) If a licensee operates as a fantasy contest operator under a trade name, such trade 
name must be filed with the Colorado Secretary of State pursuant to section 7-71-101, 
C.R.S. 

(c) All names under which a licensee operates as a fantasy contest operator (including 
business, assumed, or trade names) shall be provided to the Director. 

(2) A fantasy contest operator that is not a small fantasy contest operator, i.e., a fantasy contest 
operator that has more than 7,500 fantasy contest players in Colorado with active accounts, must 
apply for licensure with the Division. An account shall be considered “active” if the player (i) has 
an email address on file with the fantasy contest operator and (ii) has paid an entry fee for a 
fantasy contest, agreed to pay an entry fee for a fantasy contest, or has made a monetary deposit 
to a player account. An applicant for licensure must: 

(a) Submit a completed application for licensure on a form and in a manner approved by the 
Director; 

(b) Submit with the application all fees established by the Director; 

(c) Attest to the validity of the information listed on the application; 

(d) Submit a written oath or affirmation on the form and in the manner prescribed by the 
Director; 

(e) Submit the information required by section 44-30-1606(2)(c), C.R.S., including, but not 
limited to, detailed information about the nature and type of fantasy contests to be 
conducted by the applicant, and the manner in which statistics are utilized, with examples 
of all information and materials to be provided to contestants. 

(f) Submit additional information as may be requested by the Director to evaluate the 
applicant’s qualification for licensure. An application submitted without the required fees 
and documentation will be considered incomplete. 

(3) If a fantasy contest operator drops below the number of 7,500 active fantasy contest players in 
Colorado, the applicant may submit an application for registration as a small fantasy contest 
operator instead of renewing licensure. 

1.6 Renewal and Reinstatement of Registration or Licensure. 

(1) If a registrant or licensee fails to renew its license or registration pursuant to the schedule 
established by the Director, the license or registration shall expire. 

(2) In order to reinstate an expired registration or license, an applicant must: 

(a) Submit a completed application for license reinstatement on a form and in a manner 
approved by the Director; and 

(b) Submit with the application all fees established by the Director. 



1.7 Rules of Conduct. 

 A registrant or licensee shall not make any false statements or fail to disclose any facts requested 
in connection with an application or any communication with the Director. 

1.8 Petitions for Declaratory Order 

(1) Any person may petition the Director for a declaratory order to terminate controversies or to 
remove uncertainties as to the applicability to the petitioner of any provision of Article 30 of Title 
44, C.R.S., or of any rule or order of the Director. 

(2) The Director will determine, in his or her discretion and without notice to petitioner, whether to 
rule upon any such a petition. The Director shall promptly notify the petitioner of his or her action 
and state the reasons for such action. 

(3) In determining whether to rule upon a petition filed pursuant to this Rule, the Director will consider 
the following matters, among others: 

(a) Whether a ruling on the petition will terminate a controversy or remove uncertainties. 

(b) Whether the petition involves any subject, question or issue which is the subject of a 
formal or informal matter or investigation currently pending before the Director or a court 
involving one or more of the petitioners. 

(c) Whether the petition involves any subject, question or issue which is the subject of a 
formal or informal matter or investigation currently pending before the Director or a court 
but not involving any petitioner. 

(d) Whether the petition seeks a ruling on a moot or hypothetical question or will result in an 
advisory ruling or opinion. 

(e) Whether the petitioner has some other adequate legal remedy, other than an action for 
declaratory relief pursuant to Rule 57, Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure, which will 
terminate the controversy or remove any uncertainty as to the applicability to the 
petitioner of the statute, rule, or order in question. 

(4) Any petition filed pursuant to this Rule shall set forth the following: 

(a) The name and address of the petitioner and whether the petitioner is registered pursuant 
to section 44-30-1606, C.R.S. 

(b) The statute, rule, or order to which the petition relates. 

(c) A concise statement of all of the facts necessary to show the nature of the controversy or 
uncertainty and the manner in which the statute, rule or order in question applies or 
potentially applies to the petitioner. 

(5) If the Director determines that he or she will rule on the petition, the following procedure shall 
apply: 

(a) The Director may rule upon the petition based solely upon the facts presented in the 
petition. In such a case: 

(i) Any ruling of the Director will apply only to the extent of the facts presented in the 
petition and any amendment to the petition. 



(ii) The Director may order the petitioner to file a written brief, memorandum or 
statement of position. 

(iii) The Director may set the petition, upon due notice to petitioner, for a non-
evidentiary hearing. 

(iv) The Director may dispose of the petition on the sole basis of the matters set forth 
in the petition. 

(v) The Director may request the petitioner to submit additional facts in writing. In 
such event, such additional facts will be considered as an amendment to the 
petition. 

(vi) The Director may take administrative notice of facts pursuant to the State 
Administrative Procedure Act and may utilize available experience, technical 
competence and specialized knowledge in the disposition of the petition. 

(vii) If the Director rules upon the petition without a hearing, the Director shall 
promptly notify the petitioner of the decision. 

(b) The Director may, in his or her sole discretion, set the petition for hearing, upon due 
notice to petitioner, for the purpose of obtaining additional facts or information or to 
determine the truth of any facts set forth in the petition or to hear oral argument on the 
petition. The notice to the petitioner setting such hearing shall set forth, to the extent 
known, the factual or other matters into which the Director intends to inquire. For the 
purpose of such a hearing, to the extent necessary, the petitioner shall have the burden 
of proving all of the facts stated in the petition, all of the facts necessary to show the 
nature of the controversy or uncertainty and the manner in which the statute, rule or order 
in question applies or potentially applies to the petitioner and any other facts the 
petitioner desires the Director to consider. 

(6) The parties to any proceeding pursuant to this Rule shall be the Director and the petitioner. Any 
other person may seek leave of the Director to intervene in such a proceeding, and leave to 
intervene will be granted at the sole discretion of the Director. A petition to intervene shall set 
forth the same matters as required by Rule 1.8(3)(D). Any reference to a “petitioner” in this Rule 
also refers to any person who has been granted leave to intervene by the Director. 

(7) Any declaratory order or other order disposing of a petition pursuant to this Rule shall constitute 
final agency action subject to judicial review pursuant to section 24-4-106, C.R.S. 
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